Under Pressure…

 

PRESSURE!!!!!!!
Pressure pushing down on me
Pressing down on you, no man ask for…”

Yup……PRESSURE! That’s what I’ve been feeling in my professional life lately and particular yesterday. Drama can roll in like a tsunami and I can, admittedly, get sucked into that riptide. I try to fight the currents but as we all know, you wind up exhausted, disorientated and probably drowned. I have control issues…so this does not sit well with me.

So, what’s the other options?

I have learned a few tricks when I start to take things too seriously and become overwhelmed.

1) Laugh. Seriously, it’s gonna be alright.

According to the Mayo Clinic:

“A good laugh has great short-term effects. When you start to laugh, it doesn’t just lighten your load mentally, it actually induces physical changes in your body. Laughter can:

  • Stimulate many organs. Laughter enhances your intake of oxygen-rich air, stimulates your heart, lungs and muscles, and increases the endorphins that are released by your brain.
  • Activate and relieve your stress response. A rollicking laugh fires up and then cools down your stress response and increases your heart rate and blood pressure. The result? A good, relaxed feeling.
  • Soothe tension. Laughter can also stimulate circulation and aid muscle relaxation, both of which help reduce some of the physical symptoms of stress.”

2) Actively look for something to learn.

If you are purposefully looking for ways to learn then that day is not a waste.

I am grateful that I learned some amazing techniques by watching my co-worker and educator Jaclyn Chan yesterday.  As she was riding some kind of artistic wave, banging out some serious work, I was mentally taking notes.  I got the benefit of consciously and methodically LEARNING. Honestly, if you can learn one thing each day you have a success….even with chaos swirling around you.

1920s inspired!  By Jaclyn Chan

1920s inspired!
By Jaclyn Chan

 

3) My co-worker mentioned a group hug…

Not sure how appropriate that is for most professions but in our industry, meh, it works.

4) Ask yourself if you are doing your best.

No… really. Are you?

“My philosophy is that not only are you responsible for your life, but doing the best at this moment puts you in the best place for the next moment.”

~Oprah Winfrey

There are days that I coast. I’m working on that.

Go forth and learn something new! No day will be wasted!

Leave a Reply

